The Tenth Circle-Jodie Piccoult

 

the tenth circle

“All teenagers knew this was true. The process of growing up was nothing more than figuring out what doors hadn’t yet been slammed in your face. For years, parents tell you that you can be anything, have anything, do anything. That was why she’d been so eager to grow up-until she got to adolescence and hit a big fat wall ofreality. As it turned out, she couldn’t have anything she wanted. You didn’t get to be pretty or smart or popular just because you wanted it. You didn’t control your own destiny, you were too busy trying to fit in.”
― Jodi Picoult, The Tenth Circle

A 14 years old Trixie Stone life changed suddenly after she was rapped by her ex-boyfriend,Jason Underhill.His father,Daniel Stone who spent his whole childhood as the only white child in Akiak,Alaska tried to do anything to protect her while her mother,Laura who is a well-known lecturer was trying to get rid off her own betrayal towards her family.Laura had an affair with her own student and was just about to end it when she realized that everything was too late.When one morning Jason was found murdered and Trixie became suspected,everything was getting more and more complicated.

I read this book long time ago.Around September if I’m not mistaken.This book has left a great impact in my point of view about life.The Plain Truth is the first Joddie’s novel I read and it didn’t have something to yell about.I was starting to avoid Joddie Picoult since then.But when I found My Sister Keeper I decided to read it because I have watched the film which is soo good.My Sister Keeper is a total awe,so much tragedy,and it embraces the reality well.In short I love that bad so when I found this book one afternoon during my holly ‘library-scanning’ time,without another thinking I grabbed and borrowed it.And I don’t regret it though.

This book sums up a broken family’s problems and is really well-written.Joddie built characters with their different life histories and shows how they impact characters’ decision makings in further life.Joddie emphasized how it feels to be betrayed by your partner,how surprising it is to find out that your own daughter is not that innocent girl anymore,and to feel that you have been failed in doing what is your responsibility and it is a dead end you are too late to do anything.The plot is okay although it’s not that one that mesmerizes you after finished reading it.The problem itself is not really complicated but isn’t that what always happens in our life?People make simple problems become even more complicated than it actually is.I could predict the ending correctly but it was still enjoyable.

Why you should like this book:

The characters are well built,the climax is breath-taking and for sure will make you think about how fragile,cliche yet complicated life is.The conflict will make you cry like a baby.So touching.So emotional and witty.(Or maybe it’s just me and my bipolar emotion?)

Why you shouldn’t like this book:

You don’t like realistic stories or families problems.You don’t like the gray area Joddie always creates or novel is simply not your thing maybe?I don’t know but for sure after finishing this novel I’m officially have become Joddie fan.I should have sent her a fan mail with rainbows and unicorn borders on a perfumed letter paper ahaha.

“Add love and the border between right and wrong will disappears.”

FINAL RATING

★★★★☆
Leave a Reply

