The Perks of Being A Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

picture creds to http://completely-ordinary.tumblr.com/ I'm too lazy to do any edits teehee

picture creds to http://completely-ordinary.tumblr.com/
I’m too lazy to do any edits teehee

STATS:FINISHED

“And in that moment,I swear we were infinite.”

Charlie is a shy and introverted but really intelligent student.He tries hard to participate in life like his Advance English teacher told him to and finally became friend with Sam and Patrick.He then got into parties,drugs,sex,and love for the first time and was trying hard to adapt with those sort of things.Will he survive his junior year?

This book is about letters written by an anonymous who named himself Charlie and sent for an anonymous too(whom the writer haven’t even ever met in real life)Charlie started writing letters when he was a freshman in high school and wrote his last when he was about to start being a sophomore.The setting is in the US around 1980s or 1990s.This book allows us to see the world in the perspective of someone who always be in the sideline but trying to know how to be in the dance floor.The letters written are all original and honest and undeniably beautiful.I love the wordings and the poems and the main character really much.

I found that I share some similarities with Charlie although I don’t cry as much as him but still there are things where we are alike,like maybe the way he thinks about math.Here I quoted some from the book “Mr Carlo told me to stop asking why and just follow the formulas.So,I did.Now I get perfect scores on all my tests.I just wish I knew what the formulas did.”Nah this expressed my exact feeling well.You know, I often feel that some math formulas will never make sense to me,like statistic for example but since I can do all my tests well if I memorize the formulas so yeah whatever.And Charlie loves reading and me either.He read so so many books,I highlighted the titles and promised myself to read them one day.I also downloaded every songs mentioned in the story.I love Dusk by Genesis so much but I don’t really like Asleep by the Smith as much as Charlie does.It really makes me want to cuddle in bed and go ahead to unconsciousness.I really really love a scene when Charlie felt they (Sam,Pat,and Charlie) were infinite.I won’t describe the scene here because it will be an annoying spoiler.I swear it is the best part of this book after all so just go read it yourself tehee!Oh ya I’d like to tell you that there is this poem written by an anonymous that Charlie recited which is so deep and wonderful.I still want to write more but I can’t do it without spoiling so I decided to stop here.

The only bad side of The Perks of Being A Wallflower is just the ‘anonymous’ thingy.Why Charlie didn’t reveal himself in the end of the book?Why,why,I’m curios to death.And Stephen didn’t give names to all the characters,there are only Sam,Patrick,Mary,Susan,and oh gosh I hate Susan.I have a friend like her in real life so I really can understand.But being ‘mysterious’ is sometimes good too so it’s no problem after all.This book is highly recommended for high school students,esp freshmen but not younger than 12 I think,there are quite lot of sex scenes he he .Okay,last info this book has been adapted to movie stared by Emma Watson and I’m going to watch it now so see ya (wait for the movie review)!

“We accept the love we think we deserve “–Bill

the perks of being a wallfower gif

FINAL RATING

Leave a Reply

