Rapunzel

I have to make it straight before that this post is gonna be a little bit absurd.So,I had had this though long time ago and have been planning to write it for like 6 months but I never did it tho bcos I just dont feel like having the energy to explain my other absurd thought to the whole world.I have been thinking since so long that Rapunzel is actually an idiot being humiliated throughout mankind history.I wasn’t sure whether the Rapunzel story I have known since I was a kid is the original version or not that’s why I just googled it and read the classic original story of Rapunzel.It is basically the same with the one I was told years ago.The story itself sounds weird and wrong for me.What confused me is that nobody seems care about this,nobody realize that this story is silently has had a big contribution in building the wrong mindset of thousands little girls in this terrifying world.

First things first,if Rapunzel really had that magical hair which can be climbed by a prince and Mother Gothe,then why didn’t she escape from the tower long time ago?Why should wait for the prince?She could easily bind her super hair to the windowsill then jump right away to the ground before finally cut it to free herself.It is that simple.In my opinion,this fairytale indirectly tells little girls that the only way for them to be free,to finally can see the outside world,is to be married to a prince.And all they can do before that moment finally arrive is just waiting and singing inside the tower isolated in the woods!This is crazy because,cant you see the symbols used in this story?Waiting means waiting,in most cultures girls are the one who is being proposed not the other way round.She only can wait for a prince to finally propose her.Then,singing.This,for me,is a symbol of efforts girls do to attract the prince.In the story,the prince was attracted by Rapunzel’s dulcet voice at the first place.Yes,reaching this point you may think I have an absurd mind but since my mind has always been a dark paradise then whatever,deal with it please.This blog is my one and only friend to talk about things like this,things I definitely cant tell to my real human friends out there without being judged (again?!seriously?).

Second thing is,this story(and many other fairy tales) was made to make girls (even from super early age) believe that happiness means finding a prince to free them and to give them a castle and crowns,a way to be a princess is to be married to a prince (I see this as social upgrade in our era).Most of us dont see the hidden moral value of this story-Rapunzel had had her magical hair since she was born,the power itself,the power that can free her from her prison was actually already WITHIN HERSELF the whole time but problem is she never even tried to use it,the idea of escaping the tower without the prince help made nonsense to her,her mind is her limit.Just like our Science Club slogan “the sky is not the limit,the mind is”.Mindset is everything you know.Somebody can sacrifice his/her life for a suicide bomb because of mindset,because of her/his belief aka ideology.Minset is what actually moves people,motivates somebody to do or to not do something.Mindset is the most powerful weapon human beings can have.It is our belief that there must be a place in this universe resembles earth and this makes us continuing our research in aerospace and astronomy until we can actually achieve many space discoveries up to now.

I know that I should have used my energy to think about something more important rather than criticizing a fairytale,something like what should I do with my life or what should I do to stop global warming or to save the environment maybe,but truth is I cant help myself.My thought is a wild monster living inside me,eating me whole,it is also pitiless sometimes especially when it comes to criticizing my own life,my own works,and achievements and then I (most of the time) will end up depressed then start rambling here again.Like now.Hah.Back to topic,so my point is as a reader we have to be filter not sponge,because what we read (or what we are told,in this case) subconsciously will affect our mindset,our point of view.A person who only reads books from one radical side without never even had a glance on books from the other point of view,will end up being a closed minded radical maniac.We should keep our mind open by minimal-izing our prejudice to everything.We have to be careful too because little things like stories we heard when we were six somehow actually have a big impact to our current mindset.Stories like Rapunzel however is lovely to hear,everybody loves it but please remember that everything lovely is usually poisonous inside.I myself have a strong belief that this story has the responsibility of sexism in this modern era.Sometimes sexism doesnt come from the opposing sex,the prince is not always the one who humiliates women,sometimes it is the woman who chooses her own destiny to be humiliated,to be seen as an imbicile trapped in an isolated tower,she chooses to not use her super magical hair and wait for her prince helplessly (Oh did i forget to mention that she chooses to sing like a paranoid nightangle inside her cage?)#pardonmysarcasm

My conclusion of my own rambling is this-the power is already within you,use your brain girls,don’t let anyone or anything control your own life.laf ya!<3

not everything nice is good for you 😉

PS:today was awful.I feel so angry because I realized that I cant even control my own life,I cant do what I actually freaking want to do because everybody feels like they have the right to control me,the society,even my own family and friends whom think they are helping when actually they are mentally torturing me,I’m so angry thats explain my ridiculously long speech today in this blog
PPS:graduation is over,I’m finally officially leaving school and I choose not to think about this because there are enough stuffs for me to stressed about right now,enough anger for me to control,I dont have the energy for another extra bonus stressful thing to think about

*photos will soon be attached to another post,i dont want to ruin this writing with my personal stuff (i seems like i cannot blog things that is not about my life even in this one i still found myself typing this PS and PPS)
** just read this post before I logged in here I promise this one is worth to read,just click in this sentence.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.